skip to content

The Proctors' and Marshal's Office


The Constables

The Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge have the power to appoint and swear Constables under the Universities Act 1825. 

Each Constable is appointed for one year from 1st October, and their part-time contract is renewable. On appointment Constables swear an oath to faithfully carry out their duties, and have all the powers of a constable within a five-mile radius of Great St Mary's church.

Names of all current Constables

Michael Arnold

Tony Barnfield

Rachel Begbie

Ray Butler

Kipp Cooper

John Cox

Lena Dahlen-Pledger

Linda Dennis

Roger Fensom

Lorraine Fernandez

Jenny Hyams

Priti Ladwa

Martyn Laud

Jo Milton

Steve Morgan

Gerry Norden

Jennie Rawlins

Judith Surry

Tricia Sutton

Mark Whitehead

Simon Whittaker

Gianni Zamo